top of page
  • Writer's pictureDivine Maguraushe

I Don't Know What I'm Doing.

Does anyone else feel like they don't know what they are doing? Like we're all supposed to have figured it out by now, right? I'm 23 years old and do not have my life together at all. The pressures of society and the social media we are surrounded by everyday can make us feel like we should either be getting married, have a house (that's not rented) and be thinking about kids.


I think I'm the type of person that's still figuring myself out. I have moved around a lot and I honestly thought my life would be in London, but here I am in Manchester, another city, another job and another path. Not to say that's a bad thing, it's just the way things have panned out. It can be a little exciting but it's also very daunting as life waits for no one. I live with my boyfriend and we both have rent and bills to pay every month so wanting to just take a beat and figure out what you're doing and what you want, isn't the easiest but it's something I felt I had to do. I took a risk, (obviously with a contingency plan) as I didn't believe in just accepting a life that I did not like. I will tell you that it definitely hasn't been easy and there's been a lot of tears and self -doubt.


I'm not saying that I now magically have the life I've always wanted, however I have made some changes and I can only hope that they will work in my favour. So what I'm trying to say is that don't just settle and be stuck in a rut. There are options and opportunities even if it may not feel like it at the time, and also if you don't try then you'll never know. The life you want doesn't come easy, you have to work for it and with that I will leave you with this famous quote from a film known by many 'Shawshank Redemption' - "I guess it comes down to a simple choice really, get busy living or get busy dying".



Fin.

58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page